Assignment 1 (Due Wednesday, January 17)
Reader: Read carefully pages 1–4 (Sections 1.1–1.2).
Reader: Read as an overview pages 4–9 (Section 1.3).
We will discuss the details of Section 1.3 in class. 2n-1

Assignment 2 (Due Friday, January 19)
Reader: Read carefully pages 4–9 (Section 1.3).
Writing: Reader page 9: 1, 2, 3.

Assignment 3 (Due Monday, January 22)
Reader: pages 9–11 (Section 1.4).
Writing: Reader pages 11–12: 1, 2, 3, 4.
Prepare for a quiz on Wednesday, January 24.

Assignment 4 (Due Wednesday, January 24)
Reader: pages 15–19 (stop at Section 2.3.2).
Writing: Reader page 19: 1, 2, 3, 4.

Assignment 5 (Due Friday, January 26)
Reader: pages 19–26 (stop at Section 2.4.2).
Writing: Reader page 22: 1abcde.
Eyes of Faith: Chapter 1.
Come prepared to discuss questions 2–5 on page 13.

Assignment 6 (Due Monday, January 29)
Reader: pages 26–28 (stop at Section 2.4.4).
Writing: Reader page 30: 1, 2, 6.
Eyes of Faith: pages 115–127 (stop when you get to the Proving things to Be Impossible section).

Assignment 7 (Due Wednesday, January 31)
Reader: pages 28–30.
Writing: Reader pages 30–31: 8, 12, 13, 14.

Assignment 8 (Due Friday, February 2)
Eyes of Faith: Chapter 2.
Complete the circumference of the Earth calculations based on Wednesday’s measurements.
Prepare for a quiz on Monday covering Assignments 4–8.

Assignment 9 (Due Monday, February 5)
Reader: pages 33–39.
Writing: Reader pages 39–40: 1a, 2, 6, 8.

Assignment 10 Due Wednesday, February 7)
Prepare two questions (with answers) drawn from topics since the beginning of the course. The questions should be examples of what you might expect to see on Friday’s exam.

Assignment 11 (Due Wednesday, February 14)
Reader: pages 49–51 (Section 4.1).
Writing: Reader page 51: 1, 2, 3.

Assignment 12 (Due Friday, February 16)
Reader: pages 54–55 (Section 4.2.2) and pages 57–59 (Section 4.3).
Writing: Reader page 56: 1, 5; and page 58: 1, 2.

Assignment 13 (Due Wednesday, February 21)
Reader: pages 62–66 (Section 4.6.1).
Writing: Reader page 75: 2, 3.

Assignment 14 (Due Friday, February 23)
Reader: pages 73–75 (begin on page 73 with Definition 4.3).
Writing: Reader page 76: 9, 10.
Note: there will be a quiz on Monday (see Monday’s assignment).

Assignment 15 (Due Monday, February 26)
Reader: pages 70–73.
Writing: Reader page 76: 6, 8a, 11, 12, 13.
Prepare for a quiz covering Assignments 11–14. The quiz will not cover this assignment.

Assignment 16 (Due Wednesday, February 28)
Reader: pages 72–73.
Pay close attention to how the beginning part of the equation at the bottom of the page gets to Equations 4.9. Then use the language in the first paragraph of page 73 to assist in doing the writing problem.
Writing: Reader page 76: 8b.

Assignment 17 (Due Friday, March 2)
Reader: pages 66–70 (Section 4.6.2).
Writing: Reader pages 75–76: 4abcd, 5ab.
Review your notes from the video The Proof.

Assignment 18 (Due Monday, March 4)
Come to class with written work on two topics. The first will be a question you will pose as a good one for Wednesday’s exam, along with your solution to it. The second one will be to describe a topic about which you would like more clarification. Your work will be collected at the beginning of class and will form the basis of a review for exam 2.

Assignment 19 (Due Monday, March 19)
Reader: pages 112–115 (Section 5.5.4).
Writing: Reader page 118: 8, 9.

Assignment 20 (Due Friday, March 23)
Reader: pages 106–112 (Section 5.5.2).
Writing: Reader pages 116–117: 1, 2, 3, 4abcde, 5abcde.

Assignment 21 (Due Monday, March 26)
Reader: pages 93–98 (Section 5.1).
Writing: Reader page 99: 1, 2, 4, 5, 9.
Note: In problem 1 there is a slight typo: Sam should be Argos.

Assignment 22 (due Wednesday, March 28)
Reader: pages 100–103 (section 5.2).
Writing: reader page 103: 1, 2.
Prepare for a quiz on April 4 covering Assignments 19–22.

Assignment 23 (due Wednesday, April 4)
Reader: pages 104–105 (section 5.2).
Eyes of Faith Chapter 8 (Effectiveness).
Writing: Reader page 105: 1, 2.

Assignment 24 (due Friday, April 6)
Eyes of Faith Chapter 3 (Infinity)
Writing:Eyes of Faith pages 58–59: 4, 5, 7, 17.

Assignment 25 (due Friday, April 13)
Prepare for Exam 3.

Assignment 26 (due Wednesday, April 18)
Reader: pages 119–122 (Chapter 6).
Writing: Reader page 122: 2, 3, 4. Extra credit: 5.
Come to class with written responses to the above questions so they can be projected on the computer screen using the document camera in the classroom.

Assignment 27 (due Friday, April 20)
Eyes of Faith Chapter 7 (Beauty).
Writing: Eyes of Faith pages 168–179: 3, 8, 11, 12, 13.
Come to class with written responses to the above questions so they can be projected on the computer screen using the document camera in the classroom.

Assignment 28 (due Monday, April 23)
Reader: pages 140–142 (Chapter 6).