Assignment 1 (Due Wednesday, January 11)
Reading: Pages 4–15.
Some of this reading will be review, so skim the parts that are familiar.

Writing: Pages 11–12: 13, 14, 20, 21;   Page 15: 22, 23, 25, 27.

 

Assignment 2 (Due Friday, January 13)
Reading: Pages 16–21.

Writing: Page 21: 31, 32, 33, 36, 40.

 

Assignment 3 (Due Tuesday, January 17)
Reading: Pages 31–37.

Writing: Pages 37–38: 52, 54, 57, 62, 63.

 

Assignment 4 (Due Wednesday, January 18)
Reading: Examples 1 and 2, pages 41–42.

Writing: Complete Overleaf writings as assigned below:
David Spindler, Emily Williams: page 38: 57.
David Kyle: page 38: 63.
Christopher Betsill, Emma Donelson: page 43: 64.
James Solum, Kyle Fredrickson: page 43: 65.
Samuel Muthiah, Alison Torres: page 43: 66.
Olivia Hughes, Katie Mohrhoff: page 43: 71.

 

Assignment 5 (Due Friday, January 20)
Reading: Pages 44–50. Stop near the top of page 50 when you get to the paragraph beginning with, “We next define ...”

Writing: Pages 47–48 74, 75, 76, 77.

Prepare for a quiz covering assignments 1–4.

 

Assignment 6 (Due Monday, January 23)
Reading: Pages 50–55.

Writing: Pages 55–56: 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 91, 92.

Overleaf Assignments:
Assignments 5 and 6, alphabetically by last name beginning with problem 74.

 

Assignment 7 (Due Friday, January 27)
Reading: Pages 58–60.

Writing: Complete the Overleaf writings as assigned below:
David Spindler, James Solum: page 56:97.
David Kyle, Alison Torres: page 56:98.
Christopher Betsill, Katie Mohrhoff: 60:104.
Kyle Fredrickson: page 60: 105.
Olivia Hughes, Samuel Muthiah: page 60: 106.
Emily Williams, Emma Donelson: page 60:107.

 

Assignment 8 (Due Monday, January 30)
Reading: Pages 61–64.

Writing: Form groups (max 3 people) and select a unique problem from the set below so that as a class all of the problems are covered. Post your solutions on Overleaf.
Pages 64–65: 1, 2, 3, 4, 7.

 

Assignment 9 (Due Wednesday, February 1)
Reading: Section 2.2 (pages 65–71).

Writing: Page 72: 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, per random assignment given in class.

Prepare for a quiz covering assignments 5–8.

 

Assignment 10 (Due Friday, February 3)
Reading: Section 2.3 (pages 73–78).

Writing: Page 79: 19, 20, 21.

 

Assignment 11 (Due Wednesday, February 8)
Reading: Pages 80–84 (up to Theorem 4). Then continue starting with the last paragraph on page 85 until the middle of page 86. Stop at the paragraph that begins “The moment-generating function ...” Finally, read pages 87–88.

Writing: Pages 88–89: 27, 28, 29, 31, 35.

 

Assignment 12 (Due Friday, February 17)
Reading: Pages 90–97.

Writing: Page 97: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
(Kyle, Mohrhoff, Muthiah, Solum, Spindler)

 

Assignment 13 (Due Friday, February 24)
Reading: Pages 99–102; Handout; Wikipedia article (click here).

Writing: Page 103: 20, 21, 22, 23, 25.
(Torres, Williams, Betsill, Donelson, Fredrickson)

 

Assignment 14 (Due Monday, February 27)
Reading: Pages 103–108.

Writing: Page 108: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32.
(Hughes, Kyle, Mohrhoff, Muthiah, Solum)

 

Assignment 15 (Due Wednesday, March 1)
Reading: Pages 109–115.

Writing: Page 108: 46, 47, 50, 51, 53.
(Spindler, Torres, Williams, Betsill, Donelson)
For 53 the book refers you to problem 2.17; also check problem 4 of exam 1.

 

Assignment 16 (Due Friday, March 3)
Prepare for a quiz covering Assignments 12‐15.

 

Assignment 17 (Due Wednesday, March 8)
Reading: Pages 122–126 (do not read Example 1); Pages 128–131.

Writing: Page 127: 2, 3, 4; Page 131: 14, 16.
(Fredrickson, Hughes, Kyle, Mohrhoff, Muthiah)

 

Assignment 18 (Due Friday, March 10)
Reading: Pages 132–140. Skip Example 8.

Writing: Pages 142–143:
20 (Alison Tores),
21 (Chris Betsill),
22 (David Spindler, David Kyle),
29 (Emily Williams, Emma Donelson. See problem 22 for the Cauchy pdf),
30 (Klye Fredrickson, Olivia Hughes),
33 (Russell Howell).

 

Assignment 19 (Due Wednesday, March 22)
Reading: Pages 167–169 (Example 2 through Theorem 3); Pages 172–175.

Writing: Page 171: 69, 70, 71, 75; Page 175: 83, 84, 85, 86.
(Mohrhoff, Muthiah, Solum, Spindler, Torres, Williams, Betsill, Donelson)

 

Assignment 20 (Due Friday, March 24)
Prepare for a quiz covering Assignments 17–19.

 

Assignment 21 (Due Monday, March 27)
Reading: Pages 176–178; Pages 181–184 (but skip Examples 1 and 4).

Writing: Page 178: 90, 92, 95, 99, 104 Page 185: 1, 6.
(Fredrickson, Hughes, Kyle, Mohrhoff, Muthiah, Solum, Spindler)

 

Assignment 22 (Due Wednesday, March 29)
Reading: Handout.

Writing: Pages 161–162: 50, 51, 56, 58.
(Torres, Williams, Betsill, Donelson)

 

Assignment 23 (Due Friday, March 31)
Prepare for Exam 2.

 

Assignment 24 (Due Friday, April 7)
Reading: Pages 192–195.

Writing: Pages 195–196: 20, 21, 22, 23, 29.
(Fredrickson, Hughes, Kyle, Mohrhoff, Muthiah)

 

Assignment 25 (Due Monday, April 10)
Reading: Pages 212–217 (skip the remark on page 217); Pages 219–222.

Writing: Page 218: 17, 18, 19; Page 222: 26, 27, 28.
(Solum, Spindler, Torres, Williams, Betsill, Donelson)

 

Assignment 26 (Due Wednesday, April 12)
Reading: Pages 235–241.

Writing: Page 242: 5, 6.
(Fredrickson and recruits; Hughes and recruits)

 

Assignment 27 (Due Friday, April 21)
Reading: Pages 200–205.
Stop at the last paragraph on page 205 (beginning with the word Sometimes).

Writing: Page 206–207: 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, 1e, 2.
(Mohrhoff, Muthiah, Solum, Spindler, Torres, Williams)

 

Assignment 28 (Due Monday, April 24)
Complete the quiz covering Assginments 24–26.
Complete the course evaluation form.
Get a good start on your God, Chance, & Necessity essay, due 4/26/2017.