modern languages graphic
academics button library button athletics button home rollover tour button calendar roll contact button news button

Language Lab

Description of Major
Distinctive Features
Career Choices
Major Requirements

Sigma Delta Pi
Honor Society

Study Abroad

Aleta Anderson
Mary Docter
Leonor Elías

List by year
Where they studied
What they're doing now
Their advice

Westmont College
Modern Languages
955 La Paz Road
Santa Barbara, CA 93108

Spanish Honor Society

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Hispanic Honor Society, is the largest and one of the finest foreign language honor societies in existence. It was established in 1919 at the University of California, Berkeley, and has chapters at such institutions as Columbia University, Cornell, UCLA, Stanford, and the University of Chicago, to name just a few. Westmont's chapter, Tau Xi, was founded in 1994, and already has over 100 active members. (To download the electronic edition of T. Earle Hamilton's book Sigma Delta Pi: A Brief History (1919-1994) as an Adobe Acrobat file (.pdf) click here. Please note that this is a large file that may take time to download.)

Each April, Westmont conducts its induction ceremony of new members in Hieronymus Lounge, followed by a dinner banquet at La Playa Azul Restaurant. During the formal ceremony, in which current members also participate and to which the entire community is invited, students learn about the history of the society and the meaning of the its name and insignia.

The purposes of the Society are:

  • to honor those who seek and attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language, literature, and culture of the Spanish speaking peoples;
  • to honor those who have made Hispanic contributions to modern culture better known in the English-speaking world;
  • to encourage college and university students to acquire a greater interest in, and a deeper understanding of Hispanic culture;
  • to foster friendly relations and mutual respect between the nations of Hispanic speech and those of English speech

Requirements for Admission: Students must be invited to join Sigma Delta Pi. To qualify they must:

  • have completed at least 3 semesters of college work
  • rank in the top third of their class
  • have completed at least 2 upper-division courses in Spanish with a minimum GPA of 3.0
  • show genuine interest in things Hispanic
  • be of good moral character

Current Members, chapter Tau Xi:
Meghan Adams
Noelle Ahlgren
Sarah Alford
Profesora Aleta Anderson*
Kelly Ary
John Bailey
Sara Baker
Brett Baughman
Joshua Belden
Anna Benington
Gabriela Brockhoff
Anna Brookshire
Suzanne Budrick
Susan Buie
Leslie Bunchman
Deborah Burton
Esther Calderón
Patricia Calderon
Tiffany Cardenas
Aileen Carroll
Rosie Cervantes
Paige Chase
Chris Chirgwin
Andrea Cola
Megan Comstock
Jason Darrow
Mindy Dawkins
Wendy Decker
Laura Dixon
Sally Dolk
Laura Dray
Stacie Duncan
Aimee Echevarria
Valerie Edwards
Melissa Evans
Leslie Faulkner
Kristalyn Frohling
Christen Foell
Derek Fowler
Leslie Gallant
Kristine Galli
Peter Greene
Chelsea Guillermo
Julianna Gustafson
Jennifer Gutierrez
Alisa Hagerty
Kate Hallock
Flora Harmsen
Robin Harvey
Malia Hayashida
Patrick Hemphill

Brian Hendricks
María Hettinga
Alexis Horlick
Heidi Horton
Saxon Housman
Michelle Howell
Rachel Hoyt
Jennifer Inboden
Andrew Jacobs
Colleen James
Donna Jensen
Marti Johnson
Jennifer Jones
Jennifer Kim
Jennifer Koehler
Kevin Kreutz
Renee Kusler
Kristie Laqua
Megan Last
Joshua Leachman
Melody Lentz
Kenneth Leslie
Patricia Lloyd
Sheree Lynch
Julie Mann
Kristen Martin
Susan Martin
April Massey
Ana Matta
Rebecca McCasland
Heather McDowell
Paul McLean
Brent Meister
Lina Monley
Nathanael Monley
Dr. Laura Montgomery*
Ann Moore
Kristin Morrison
Alexis Moss
Sharla Mylar
Brenda Navarrete
Miriam Niednagel
Jennifer Nicholas
Christina Oostema
Priscilla Padilla
Nicholas Parmley
Marisol Pérez
Jessica Perkins
Jill Perkins
Jessica Peters
Kerry Poe
Anna Quirk
Kelly Roach
Nicole Rainer
Peter Ramey
Rochelle Reed
Kerri Rice
Aaron Ritenour
LeAnn Rolston
Amanda Rosentrater
Dr. Ray Rosentrater*
Rebekah Sanders
Jolene Schoenert
Jennifer Schooler
Cynthia Sierra
Julian Simpson
Larissa Singleton
Heather Sloan
Peter Soderin
Todd Spence
Jessica Stearns
Carrie Steele
Thomas Steller
Andrea Stuart
Amy Taylor
Abigail Thom
R. Regina Thorne
Marisa Torres
Lisa Truax
Christian Vanden Heuvel
Leah VanderHamm
Gabrielle VanderMey
Simon Vann
Anna Waddell
Barbara Walter
Louanne Westcott
Camille White
Heather White
Leslie Wick
Scott Williams
Jessilyn Winters
John Woolley
Jenica Wozniak
Evan Wright
Aaron Ziulkowski

*miembros honorarios
© 2002 Westmont College, All Rights Reserved - Feedback