6.2 Holidays

Westmont usually observes 12 holidays per academic year. The college holidays are communicated in writing at the beginning of the academic year. These typically include the following: a fall holiday, Thanksgiving Day and the Friday after Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day with two other days during this time, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents' Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, and Independence Day.

When a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the preceding Friday or following Monday, whichever is closer, will be observed as the holiday. Regular full-time and regular part-time employees are eligible for holiday pay based on their normal work schedules on those days. Temporary employees are not eligible for holiday pay. A regular non-exempt employee who is asked to work on a holiday will be paid both holiday pay and at their regular rate of pay for hours worked. Holiday pay is considered as time worked when computing overtime pay. An employee who has an unexcused absence on the workday before or after a holiday will not be paid for that holiday.

back next