The Hiring Process:
Sick Pay Law

On July 1, 2015, employees in California that work for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment are entitled to paid sick leave after working 90 days.  Part-time student employees will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked up to a maximum of 3 days or 24 hours/yr. Accrual begins on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later.

• The College is offering Paid Sick Leave benefits which satisfy or exceed the accrual, carryover, and use requirements of Labor Code §246.  Employees will view their accrued sick leave benefits on Web Advisor, when signed in under the Employee section and after clicking on the link for Leave Plan Summary.

• Student employees may utilize sick leave for their own illness or that of a family member, for diagnosis and treatment of an existing condition or for preventative care.  Sick time may also be used if the employee is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.  As much as possible, student employees should provide advance notice of the need to use sick leave.  Be sure you are able to advise the employee how to note sick leave Students will record sick hours manually on printed time cards recording the date and total number of sick hours taken, ie: 8/31/15   2 sick hours. The updated Student Payroll system will be in place late Fall with an online sick leave request feature.

• Please note that under California law, employees may not be terminated or retaliated against for using or requesting the use of accrued paid sick leave and have the right to file a complaint against an employer who retaliates or discriminates against an employee for 1) requesting/using accrued sick days; 2) attempting to use accrued paid sick days; 3) filing a complaint or alleging a violation of Article 1.5 section 245 et seq. of the California Labor Code; 4) cooperating in an investigation or prosecution of an alleged violation of this Article or opposing any policy or practice or act that is prohibited by Article 1.5 section 245 et seq. of the California Labor Code.   You may not require the student employee to request the paid sick leave in writing, nor require that they provide you with a doctor’s note.

• Please contact Human Resources if you have questions about this new benefit for student employees.