Program Review Committee

Westmont College is committed to achieving academic excellence in higher education and has instituted a rigorous and on-going program review of its academic departments and auxiliary programs. To achieve that end, the College has:

  • Required regular annual assessment reports from each area with 6 year comprehensive reviews
  • Created a Dean of Curriculum & Educational Effectiveness position to oversee and encourage the process
  • Created a Program Review Committee of Faculty and Administrators which meets regularly
  • Placed Program Review at the highest level of Strategic Planning

Program Review at Westmont College: Mission-Driven, Meaningful, & Manageable

Current Members for the 2014-15 academic year:

Dr. Tatiana Nazarenko – Dean of Curriculum and Educational Effectiveness

Photo of Tatiana NazarenkoDr. Nazarenko joined Westmont College as Dean of Curriculum and Educational Effectiveness in 2010. She chairs the Program Review Committee and works with academic and co-curriculum departments on issues pertaining to curriculum development, outcome-based learning, and assessment. She also serves on the Academic Senate, AS Review Committee, WASC Steering Committee, the President's Council, and the College's Strategic Planning Committee. Her research interests include assessment and enhancement of student learning in various educational contexts.

Dr. Andrew Mullen – Professor of Education (Social Sciences).

Andrew Mullen

Elected to a term ending in Spring 2015. Dr. Mullen serves as Professor of Education. His scholarly interests include nationalism and cosmopolitanism in American education, children’s literature, and the history of teaching history.

Dr. Mark Nelson - Professor of Philosophy (Humanities)

Mark T. Nelson

Elected to a term ending in Spring 2017. Dr. Nelson has been a member of Westmont's Department of Philosophy since 2006. His research interests lie in the areas of ethics, epistemology and philosophy of religion.  Within ethics, his main area of interest is contemporary metaethics.  He served on Faculty Council from 2010 to 2013.


Dr. Michael Sommermann - Professor of Physics (Natural and Behavior Sciences)

Dr. Michael Sommermann

Elected to a term ending in spring 2016. Dr. Michael Sommermann is
a member of Westmont's Department of Physics since 1985. He has
served as department chair from 2002-2004. Trained as a theoretical
physicist, Dr. Sommermann's research interests lie in the areas of
mathematical and computational physics.

Dr. Bill Wright – Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Research, WASC ALO

Photo of Bill WrightBill Wright has served Westmont College in a number of capacities including Professor of Psychology and Registrar since 1980. Along with serving on the President's Executive Team he also directs Westmont's Off-Campus Programs.  He has served as Westmont's WASC Association Liaison Officer since the Fall of 2006.

Dana Alexander, Director of the Office of Life Planning, Student Life

Dana Alexander headshot

Dana graduated from Westmont with a degree in Sociology. He went on to earn a Master's in Theological Studies from Gordon-Conwell Seminary, an advanced degree in Counseling from Northeastern University, and a Certificate in Career Counseling from Cal State Northridge. After serving in the ministry for nine years as an assistant pastor, he transitioned to the career development field, where he has been since 1988. He is a National Board Certified Career Counselor (NBCCC), and has taught graduate level courses in career planning at Antioch University.

Mary Logue – Associate Director, Library

Mary Logue Mary Logue is the Associate Director for the Library. She has been working in the Library since May of 2000. She has a Masters of Library and Information Science with a focus on cataloging, preservation, and disaster preparedness. She has also taken classes on management and leadership. Her professional interests include the history of the Santa Barbara Public Library (up to 1940), strategic planning, and teaching other librarians about disaster preparedness and preservation.

Christen FoellChristen Foell - Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Curriculum and Educational Effectiveness (recording secretary)

Christen is an alumna of Westmont College with a BA in Communication Studies. She earned a Master's degree in Public Administration from Seton Hall University. Christen has been working in the Provost's Office since 2014 and is serving the Program Review Committee in an administrative capacity. Christen is also the Assistant Director of the Gaede Institute for the L iberal Arts at Westmont.