Intercultural Organizations (ICOs)

ICO's group shot


About ICOs

Intercultural Organizations (ICOs) is an umbrella for several groups that exist to support, educate and celebrate different cultures and perspectives among students. The purpose of ICOs is two-fold: 1). to provide a space for students of similar background to come together for support and fellowship and; 2)  to give all students the opportunity to build new friendships and to learn about and value different cultures, histories and perspectives of others.

Any registered Westmont student may apply to lead, be a member of or participate in programs organized by an ICO.  ICOs are and have always been inclusive, i.e. all students of all backgrounds are welcome to participate. Programs and meetings are framed and guided by the college’s learning standard for diversity and by the mission, vision and goals of Intercultural Programs.

This year, their vision is to focus on the spiritual and church histories and legacies of different cultures.

Leadership:

Business Manager:

Jaewoo Chung

jaechung@westmont.edu

 

Asian Student Association (ASA)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Alice Geng

 

Cynthia Hom

 

xgeng@westmont.edu

 

chom@westmont.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Megan Carter

 

Tina Ballue

 

 

mecarter@westmont.edu

 

tballue@westmont.edu

Hawai'i No Ka 'Oi

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Jessica Jelf-Albert

 

Johanna Ward

 

 

jjelfalbert@westmont.edu

 

joward@westmont.edu

Latino Cultural Organization (LCO)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Stephen Avila

 

Gabriella Pinheiro-Chavez

 

savila@westmont.edu

 

gpinhirochavez@westmont.edu

Global & International Student Assoc.

(GISA)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

 

Thabie Shabalala

 

Andy Wood

 

 

eshabalala@westmont.edu

 

awood@westmont.edu

 

MESA (Mixed Race Student Association)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Sarah Gowing

 

Kara Macias

 

sgowing@westmont.edu

 

kmacias@westmont.edu

REJ (Racial Equality and Justice)

 

Co-Leaders:

 

Cameron Haramia

 

Nathaniel Taylor

 

charamia@westmont.edu

 

ntaylor@westmont.edu

 

Contact Information:

Office Hours:
TBD
ICOs Office: Upstairs, Kerr Student Center Lounge

ico@westmont.edu
805-565-7119 - Main Office

ICO Blog:

http://blogs.westmont.edu/intercultural-orgs/

Requirements for Intercultural Organizations

Advisor:
Jason Cha
Director of Intercultural Programs
jacha@westmont.edu

805-565-6132