Westmont Magazine Scientific Scholarships

The mathematics and computer science department has announced the recipients of the first National Science Foundation scholarship awards: Brian Jensen ’05, Meghan Butler ’05, Nick Burwell ’06 and Melissa McLeod ’06. The students received $3,125 each and will participate in mentoring opportunities, internships, research experiences, conferences and other activities. Scholarship recipients demonstrate unmet financial need and exemplary academic records, character, and professional promise.

Two honorary recipients, Patti Scofield and Joe Cox, will be included in program activities but will not receive financial awards.

“We are extremely grateful to the National Science Foundation, which provided the funding for this four-year program through a $55,000 grant as part of the Computer Science, Engineering, and Mathematics Scholarships Program,” said Kim Kihlstrom, assistant professor of computer science. She serves as the principal investigator on the project; Professors Patti Hunter and Russ Howell are co-principal investigators. In each of the four years, four scholarship awards will be given.